[PRESS RELEASE] Seoul Drama Awards Organizing Committee Hosts 'Seoul International Drama Awards 2021’

  • Admin
  • 2021-10-19
  • Views 12,393

Seoul Drama Awards Organizing Committee Hosts 'Seoul International Drama Awards 2021’

  • The awards will be broadcast live at 5 pm on Thursday 21 October
  • The ceremony will not have spectators and commit with a limited number of attendees, some of the awardees who cleared the COVID-19 vaccination are included in the list.



Seoul Drama Awards Organizing Committee (Chairman Sung Jae Park) has announced that the 'Seoul International Drama Awards 2021' will take place at the Sangam MBC Open Hall on Thursday, 21 October.


The awards ceremony will be broadcast live on the broadcasting channel MBC and the official YouTube channel of the 'Seoul International Drama Awards' at 5 pm on 21 October. In particular, this year's ceremony will be held as a No Contact event. It will not invite spectators and accompany a limited number of engaged people, including some of the awardees in order to strictly follow the prevention measures and safety protocols against the COVID-19.


Actress 'Eun Bin Park' and idol group ASTRO member 'Eun Woo Cha' will host the ceremony. The awards will deliver the trophies after the event for the awardees who will not be present at the ceremony. The awardees will deliver the acceptance speeches through videos.


Seoul International Drama Awards (abbreviated to "SDA") will take place in the global city of Seoul, sponsored by the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism and the Seoul Metropolitan Council. 'Hee Hwang' The minister of MCST and 'Se Hoon Oh' mayor of Seoul will make appearances through video as awarders.


SDA 2021 will award dramas in categories of International Competition, International Invitation and Outstanding Korean Drama. The upcoming awards are anticipating fierce competition as 238 entries, 41 countries has been submitted.


A panel of 19 juries teamed up for evaluating the International Competition of SDA 2021. Seven juries participated in the final selection, selected the winners through a fair evaluation. Joining of 'Magdalene Ew' - who led HBO <Game of Thrones> campaign for eight seasons - and 'Isabelle Degeorges' - who produced a French drama <Lupin>, one of the most consumed non-Anglophone Netflix contents along with <Squid Game> and <Bridgerton> - have particularly attracted the attention.


This year, 'Suk Man Ko' as the head of the juries will award a prize and ‘Isabelle Degeorges’ will be present at the ceremony. The jury panel's head 'Suk Man Ko' was formerly the president of EBS, the head director of Jeonju International Film Festival Executive Committee, the chief director of Seoul Arts Center and the director of Korea Creative Content Agency.


Moreover, the ceremony will have plenty of special stages featuring performances of idol group 'AB6IX' and singer 'Young Tak,' 'Big Naughty' and b-boy crew 'JINJO Crew.' A Drama Street that will offer a variety of online and offline events will take place during the awards, until Friday 22 Oct, at Sangam Cultural Square.


Meanwhile, a 'Drama OST Concert' which will feature OST masterpieces of the top Korean dramas in a form of an omnibus concert is scheduled. The ‘Drama OST Concert' will be recorded at the MBC Golden Mouth Hall on 22 and broadcast on the MBC M channel and the official SDA YouTube channel at 8 pm Friday 29 October.